5223686551 8f279c369a z The Matterhorn aspires to the 7 Natural Wonders of the World

The Matterhorn aspires to become one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World. This beauty, which we can contemplate in many trips to the Alps, has passed the last cut and is one of the 28 finalists, out of 440 applications submitted. The winners will be announced on November 11, 2011.

This initiative has been promoted by the New7Wonders Foundation in Switzerland and is the result of the success of the campaign that was launched to choose the new seven wonders of the world.

The Matterhorn is possibly the most well-known mountain in the Alps for its spectacular pyramid shape, often reproduced.

The Matterhorn is located on the border between Switzerland and Italy, between the Swiss town of Zermatt and the Italian town of Breuil-Cervinia.

Its image is imposing from the four sides. In fact, the mountain has four faces, towards the four cardinal points, with the north and south faces converging at the top to form a final east-west orientation.

The faces are extremely steep and only cling to them small patches of snow and ice, with frequent avalanches that send the snow down to accumulate in the glaciers of the base of each face. The northeast edge of Hörnli (in the center of the view from Zermatt) is the most common ascent route.

Share in social media:
PreviousThe Aurora NextUeli Steck speed soloing on the Grandes Jorasses

One answer

  1. Pingback: Bitacoras.com

Leave your comment:

Name mandatory