3981572696 9f36de8fbf z The Shira, Mawenzi and Kibo, the three legs of Kilimanjaro

Kilimanjaro is composed of three peaks which, in turn, are also extinct volcanoes: Shira in the west, with 3962 meters; Kibo, in the center, with 5891.8 m; and Mawenzi in the east, with 5149 m.


It is crowned at the top with an elliptical boiler, 2.4 km long and 3.6 km wide, enclosing a crater called crater Reusch, 900 m in diameter, whose center is a cone ash 200 m in diameter, called Ash Pit. The main peak in the southern edge of the outer crater, called Uhuru peak.

Other notable points of Kibo are the inner cone, at 5835 m altitude; Hans Meyer point, the point Gilman, leopard point and Yohanas gap, named in honor of the guide who accompanied the first ascent of the mountain. In the southwest of the summit, a huge landslide gave birth, about 100 000 years ago, the western opening (Western Breach) overlooking the valley Barranco (Barranco Valley).


Sometimes it is considered to Mawenzi the third highest peak in Africa after mount Kenia. It is very eroded and today has the appearance of a dam in highlighting Hans Meyer peak, peak Purtscheller, South peak and peak Nordecke.

At its base, leave several valleys to the east, especially the Great Barranco (Great Ravine) and the Barranco Menor (Lesser Barranco). The Saddle (in Spanish, the Chair [riding]), is a plateau of 3600 is located between Mawenzi and Kibo.


The Shira, which highlights the Johnsell point consists of a deformed semi crater of which there are only the southern and western edges.

In the northeast of it, on a 6200 ha, the mountain has a surface shaped plate. About 250 satellites cones are present on both sides of these three peaks in a northwest axis / southeast.


Share in social media:
PreviousSwitzerland and Tanzania among the best fall trips for National Geographic Traveler NextHiking in summer in Swedish Lapland

Leave your comment:

Name mandatory